UNITED FACULTY SENATES ASSOCIATION OF MISSISSIPPI

Joshua Bernstein, President joshua.bernstein@usm.edu 601.266.5789

November 22, 2024

Via Electronic Mail

To the Presidents and Chancellors of the Institutions of Higher Learning in Mississippi:

On behalf of the United Faculty Senates Association of Mississippi (UFSAM), this letter is to express unwavering support for the Mississippi State University's Robert Holland Faculty Senate's resolution advocating for the protection and promotion of academic freedom for faculty members across all Institutions of Higher Learning (IHLs) in Mississippi. The resolution, which the Robert Holland Faculty Senate passed on October 4th, reads:

Be it resolved that the Robert Holland Faculty Senate advocates for the protection and promotion of academic freedom for faculty members across all Institutions of Higher Learning (IHLs) in Mississippi. The Robert Holland Faculty Senate calls on other faculty senates in the state to join in this resolution and requests a letter of support from the United Faculty Senates Association of Mississippi (UFSAM). This letter will be shared with all university presidents and chancellors. While the media maintains the right to free speech, it is essential that universities uphold and defend the principles of academic freedom to foster a vibrant and open academic environment throughout Mississippi's universities.

Academic freedom is a cornerstone of higher education, enabling faculty to engage in research, teaching, and discourse that challenge prevailing notions and foster a rich intellectual environment. We recognize the vital role that academic freedom plays in cultivating critical thinking and encouraging diverse perspectives within our academic communities. As we witness increasing pressures that may threaten this principle, it is essential that we stand united in our commitment to uphold and defend academic freedom.

We wholeheartedly support the Robert Holland Faculty Senate's resolution and encourage all faculty senates across the state to join us in this critical initiative. Together, we can ensure that academic freedom remains a foundational principle of higher education in Mississippi.

Thank you for your attention to this important matter. We appreciate your support in championing academic freedom for all faculty members.

Sincerely,

Robert Banik, Mississippi State University

Chevers

Capitace Sarter-Stevens, Mississippi Valley State University

Nora Gough-Davis, Delta State University

Sophia Leggett

Sophia Leggett, Jackson State University

Emileigh McCardle, University of Southern Mississippi

Chad Murphy, Mississippi University for Women

Anant Singh, Alcorn State University

Hans P. Sinha

Hans P. Sinha, University of Mississippi

Bradley J. Walters, University of Mississippi Medical Center